Governor Ralph Northam has appointed five new commissioners to the Virginia Commission for the Arts. They represent economic, academic, business, civic, and cultural sectors of Virginia and bring a wealth of talent and experience to the 13 member statewide Board.

Among them is the Executive Director for Eastern Shore’s Own Arts Center Ashleigh Smith Maggard. Maggard and her husband came to the Eastern Shore in 2017 to take the helm at ESO.

Commission Chair John Rainero (Bristol) commented: “We appreciate the governor appointing these highly qualified and respected leaders to our board. My fellow commissioners and I look forward to serving with the new appointees as we continue to support, promote, and provide opportunities for artists and arts organizations around the Commonwealth”.

The other appointees to the Virginia Commission for the Arts are:

·     Terry Emory Buntrock, of Williamsburg, Founder and President of the Triangle Arts & Culture League, Inc.
·     Asa M. Jackson of Hampton, President and Founder of The Contemporary Arts Network; Member, Education and Planning Committee of The Hermitage Museum
·     The Honorable Laurie Naismith of Norfolk, former Secretary of the Commonwealth
·     The Honorable David Trinkle, MD of Roanoke, Associate Dean for Community and Culture, Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine; former member, Roanoke City Council

With the Commission’s focus on the important connections between the arts and economic revitalization, community building, creative workforce development, and mental health and wellness, the new commissioners join a talented roster of arts and business leaders who fund and promote arts and cultural organizations around Virginia.

The five new commissioners will join their fellow board members at the September 27th meeting of the Commission in Richmond.