Amid the ongoing discussions of the wastewater problem on the Eastern Shore, the Northampton County Board of Supervisors revitalized the Eastern Shore Public Service Authority at their Tuesday night meeting.

Following a short main session, the Board returned after its closed session and made five appointments to the Eastern Shore Public Service Authority, which were all members of the current board of Supervisors.

Robert Duer was appointed to a 2 year term, replacing Garret Dunham. Oliver Bennett was appointed to a 4 year term, to replace the deceased Carl Harris. Dave Fauber was appointed to a 4 year term replacing Shawn Ingram. John Coker was appointed to a 4 year term replacing John Rider and Spencer Murray was appointed to a 2 year term to replace JT Holland.

The PSA hadn’t met since 2015. It’s original mission was to come up with a way to handle both Nassawadox’s wastewater as well as a way to bring the Cape Charles wastewater line to the highway. However, it was unable to find a solution everyone liked on both. While Food Lion and McDonalds both expressed interest in the Cape Charles prospect, Tower Hill resident vehemently railed against the plan

All terms of former PSA members had expired or they resigned. The PSA has nine spots, five at large members, which are now taken by the Board of Supervisors, and each town that joined has a representative. Eastville didn’t join, but Exmore, Nassawadox, Cape Charles and Cheriton have town representatives.

A design has been made to extend Cape Charles water to the Harbor Greens development on Old Cape Charles Road. A PSA meeting is required to transfer the contract from to the town of Cape Charles and not waste the design money.

Board Chairman Spencer Murray said after consulting with legal counsel, they felt it would be best for board members to join with towns to develop a regional approach. In process of looking at option with HRSD for both counties, the towns will all have decisions to make. The Board has to think about wastewater treatment possibilities for unincorporated areas of Northampton County.

“To accomplish this, the board felt that we should thank the members of the old PSA and have the Board and town representatives make the infrastructure decisions going forward,” said Murray.

Towns will have to reappoint their members.