Tuesday is town and city election day in Virginia. On the Shore there are several contested and some uncontested races.

In Parksley, Daniel R. Matthews, John Carter Parks, Frank A. Russell and Rodney Smoot are running for three open town council seats.

In Onancock, Dr. Fletcher Fosque is running unopposed for mayor. Josh Bundick, Catherine Krause, Joy Marino, Maphis Oswald and Matthew D. Spuck are running for three open council seats.

On Tangier, Mayor Ooker Eskridge is running unopposed for mayor. Lynda Clary, D. Lee Crockett, Rebecca Ann Dunivon, Norwood C. Evans, James McCready, Paul R. McCready, Edward V. Parks, James R. Parks, Timothy Trimble, and Cynthia S. Wheatley are running for council.

On Chincoteague five candidates are running to fill three council seats. Ben Ellis, Matthew Reed, Ellen Richardson, former mayor Harry Stanley Thornton and Alex Tucker are trying to earn a spot on the council.

In Wachapreague Fredrick Jones is unopposed for mayor. Stewart Powell, Katherine Bilicki, Robert Belicki, Walter Govak, Aileen Joeckel, John W. Joeckel, Sandie Pulchalski, and Robert G. Williams are running to fill six council positions.

In Northampton, town elections are happening in Cape Charles, Exmore and Cheriton. Eastville and Nassawadox hold their elections in November. In Cape Charles, Terry G. Carney is challenging William ‘Smitty’ Dize for the mayor’s seat. Chris Bannon, Andrew Follmer, David Gay, Paul Grossman, Tammy Holloway Niokata Marshall and Joan Natali are running for three seats on the council.

One of the hotter races of the evening is taking place in Cheriton. Former Board of Supervisors member Larry LeMond is challenging Warren W. “Ski” Wisneski for mayor.   For the town council ten candidates are running to fill 6 seats. Daniel C. Dabinet, Jacqueline V. Davis, B.B. Barry Downing Jr,, Gregory S. Hardesty, Robert K. “Bo” Lewis, Christie L . Mills, Donella M Romeo, J. Wesley Travis, Jason P. Van Marter and Matthew Yancy III are looking for seats at the town council table.

In Exmore, three council seats are unopposed but there is a contest for the mayor’s seat. Mayor Douglas W. Greer is facing opposition from Scott Hines. G.W. Adkins, T. Bradley Doughty, and Byron Heaster are running for three open seats on the town council.

Other elections include Accomac, Belle Haven, Saxis, and Hallwood where the mayor and council seats are uncontested. In Keller there are only two candidates signed up for six spots on the town council. Painter, Bloxom and Melfa are not holding elections this year.

WESR will be live after 8 p.m. with town election results.