Photo by Jay Diem

The Eastern Shore started off the week with our delegate, senator and governor all from the Shore. It ended just as it started.   Senator Lynwood Lewis retained his Senate seat, Delegate Rob Bloxom will return to Richmond and of course Governor Ralph Northam will begin his final two years in office.

In Accomack County, Lewis received 6023 votes or 54% with Elizabeth Lankford receiving 5173 votes or 46%.

Bloxom received 6,921 votes in Accomack County, while challenger Phil Hernandez received 4,311 votes.

James Lilliston will assume the Treasurer’s post on the first of January.   Lilliston defeated Brandy C. Childress. Lilliston received 7449 votes while Childress received 3535 votes.

Three districts will have new members of the Board of Supervisors starting in January.   Jackie Phillips will replace Laura Belle Gordy for the District 7 seat on the Accomack Board. Phillips defeated Miriam Riggs 959 to 592 votes

In District 2 Lisa M. Cropper Johnson  will replace the retiring Grayson Chesser.

In District 5, Supervisor Harrison Phillips fended off a challenge by James Rich and will retain his seat. Phillips received 524 votes and challenger James Rich received 416 votes.d

In the Accomack County School Board races, Janet Martin Turner defeated Thomas Johnson 862 votes to 672 votes. Gary Reese will retain his seat fending off a challenge by Connie Burford. Reese received 742 votes versus 383 votes for Burford.

In Northampton County Senator Lynwood Lewis received 2,682 votes, challenger Elizabeth Lankford received 1,757.   Delegate Rob Bloxom received 2,329 votes and Phil Hernandez received 2,125 votes.

District 4 in Northampton County will have a new member of the Board of Supervisors. Dixon Leatherbury will take over the seat of Spencer Murray in December. Leatherbury defeated challenger David Kabler 681 to 268.

You can check out the precinct by precinct returns below:


House of Delegates

Accomack County

Northampton County