Election day has finally arrived.  The polls open at 6 a.m. and will remain open until 7 p.m.  The election will be for our state and local representatives.  Incumbent Senator Lynwood Lewis is being opposed by Blue Crab Bay owner  Elizabeth Lankford.   Incumbent  Delegate Robert Bloxom Jr. is being opposed by Norfolk resident  Phil Hernandez.    The Treasurers office in Accomack County is up for grabs with Treasurers office employee James Lilliston facing Brandy Childress, a local banker.

In other Accomack races, in District 1 Billy Joe Tarr is running unopposed for the Board of Supervisors and Jessie W. Speidel is running unopposed for the School Board.  In District 2, Supervisor Ron Wolff is running unopposed as is  School Board member Edward Taylor. In District 3  Vanessa C. Kay is running unopposed to replace retiring Supervisor Grayson Chesser and Lisa M. Cropper Johnson is running unopposed for the School Board.  In District 4 Paul E.J. Muhly is unopposed for Supervisor and incumbent School Board member Gary Reese will face Bloxom resident Connie Burford .  In District 5 incumbent Supervisor Harrison Phillips III is being opposed by James Rich. School Board member Camesha Handy is running unopposed.   In District 6 incumbent Supervisor Robert D. Crockett is running unopposed as is incumbent School Board Member Paul C. Bull.   In District 7  Miriam Tina Riggs is facing Howard Jackie Phillips for Supervisor and  longtime teacher Thomas T.J. Johnson III is facing Janet Martin Turner for the School Board.  In District 8,  incumbent Supervisor Donald L Hart  Jr. is unopposed and Dr. Ronnie Holden is also running unopposed for the School Board.  In District 9 incumbent Cassandra Reneta Major is unopposed for Supervisor and  Malcolm Pep White is unopposed for School Board.

Incumbent Commonwealth’s Attorney Spencer Morgan, incumbent Commissioner or Revenue Debbie Midgett and current Deputy Todd Wessells for Sheriff are all unopposed.

In Northampton County Commonwealth’s Attorney Beverly Leatherbury,  Treasurer Cynthia Bradford, Commissioner of Revenue Charlene Gray and Sheriff David Doughty are running unopposed as is School Board at Large Charlena Jones.  Jason P. Vonmarta is running unopposed for a Town Council spot in Cheriton.

In District 4, Planning Commission member Dixon Leatherbury is opposed by realtor David Kabler for the Board of Supervisors seat. Jean P. Molera is unopposed for the School Board Seat. In District 5,  former Supervisor Betsy Mapp is running unopposed  to replace Robert Duer on the Board of Supervisors.  Incumbent Skip Oakley is running unopposed for the District 5 School Board seat.

WESR will bring you complete election returns starting at 7:30 pm.


Broadwater Academy Ad