The deadline has passed to qualify for the local election on November 5. There are few contested races. In Accomack County there is only one contested race for the constitutional officers.   Spencer Morgan, Commonwealth’s Attorney, Deborah Midgett Commissioner of Revenue and Todd Wessells Sheriff are all uncontested. In the Accomack County Treasurer’s race 13 year employee of the Treasurer’s office James A. Lilliston of Melfa will face Brandy Custis Childress of Accomac.

In the Accomack County Board of Supervisors races Billy Joe Tarr, Ron Wolff, Paul Muhly, Robert Crockett, Donald Hart and Reneta Major are all unopposed. Harris Phillips in District 5 is being challenged by James Rich of Bloxom and in District 7, Miriam Riggs and Jackie Phillips both of Cashville are running to fill the vacant seat caused by the retirement of Laura Belle Gordy.

In District 3, Vanessa Johnson is running unopposed to fill the vacancy left by the retirement of Grayson Chesser.

In the very first School Board Election in Accomack County, there are nine seats but only two are contested.   Incumbent Gary Reese in District 4 is being challenged by Connie C. Burford of Bloxom. In District 7, Janet Martin-Turner of Accomac is being challenged by Thomas “TJ” Johnson III also from Accomac.

Jessie Speidel in District 1, Edward F. Taylor in District 2, Lisa C. Johnson in District 3, Camesha Handy in District 5, Paul Bull in District 6, Dr. Ronnie E. Holden in District 8 and Malcom “Pep” White in District 9 are unopposed.

It’s much the same story in Northampton County. Constitutional Officers Commonwealth’s Attorney Beverly Leatherbury, Sheriff David Doughty, Commissioner of Revenue Charlene Gray and Treasurer Cynthia Bradford are running unopposed.

Two districts are up for the Board of Supervisors in Northampton. In District 4, Dixon Leatherbury will face David Kabler Sr.. In District 5, Betsy Mapp is running unopposed.

There are three candidates up for the School Board. At large member Charlena Jones, District 4 Jo Ann Molera and District 5 William Skip Oakley are running unopposed.