RICHMOND, Va. (AP)- A panel of judges has selected eight citizens who will join eight legislators on a bipartisan commission that will redraw Virginia’s legislative boundaries for the next decade.

The eight citizens chosen by the judges at Tuesday’s meeting are Greta Harris, Richmond; Sean Kumar, Alexandria; Mackenzie Babichenko, Mechanicsville; Jose A. Feliciano, Jr., Fredericksburg; James Abrenio, Fairfax; Brandon Hutchins, Virginia Beach; Marvin Gilliam, Bristol; and Richard Harrell, South Boston.

A referendum approved by voters in November creates the 16-member commission to draw lines for Virginia’s seats in Congress and the General Assembly. The judges selected four names each from lists submitted by Democratic and Republican legislative leaders.

The panel of judges was tasked under the law with selecting members to reflect racial, ethnic, gender and geographical diversity. Six of the eight are men. The panel includes African American, Hispanic, Asian and biracial members.

62 nominations were made for the panel, one of which was an Eastern Shore resident. Samira R. Brooks, 42 years old and a resident of Cape Charles, was nominated by the House of Delegates Democratic Party to serve on the panel.

ANPDC We're Hiring