The Accomack-Northampton County Farm Service Agency County Committee Election is underway.

T. he county committee nomination period began on June 15, 2018. Nomination forms must be postmarked or received in the Accomack-Northampton County FSA office by close of business on Aug. 1, 2018.

For election purposes, counties are divided into local administrative areas (LAA). Each LAA nominates and elects one producer to serve a three-year term on the FSA county committee.

Each year, an election is held in an LAA where a committee member’s three-year term is expiring. For 2018, an election will be held in two LAA’s, LAA 3 and LAA 4. LAA 3 boundaries are from Onancock Route 789 to the Accomack-Northampton County Line. LAA 4 boundaries are from the Accomack-Northampton County Line to the Machipongo Route 627 and Route 628.

To be eligible to serve on an FSA county committee, a person must participate or cooperate in a program administered by FSA, be eligible to vote in a county committee election and reside in the LAA in which the person is a candidate.

Farmers and ranchers may nominate themselves or others. Organizations representing minorities and women also may nominate candidates. To become a candidate, an eligible individual must sign an FSA-669A nomination form. The form and other information about FSA county committee elections are available at Nomination forms must be postmarked or received in the local USDA service center by close of business on Aug. 1, 2018.

Nationwide, there are approximately 7,800 farmers and ranchers serving on FSA county committees. These individuals make decisions on disaster and conservation programs, emergency programs, commodity price support loan programs and other agricultural issues. Committees consist of three to 11 members who are elected by eligible producers.