Today is Election Day on the Shore and there are two congressional races and several town races in play.

In the U.S. Senate race, incumbent Democratic Tim Kaine is facing Republican challenger Corey Stewart. In the second district House of Representatives race, incumbent Republican Scott Taylor is being challenged by Democrat challenger Elaine Luria.


In local elections acting Commissioner of Revenue Deborah Midgett is seeking to become the Commissioner of Revenue in Accomack County following the passing of Lesilie Savage. Midgett is unopposed.


In town elections Bloxom will hold elections for both the Mayor’s seat and the Town Council.   Jenny Kreisl is running for mayor. Running for Town Council are Samuel H. Bloxom, Jr., Michael P. Barnes Jr. , Louella H. Fox, Christopher Kreisl and Scott Callendar.


In Melfa the sole candidate for mayor is Charles R. Wilbur. For council, James R. Wilson, James D. Brown and David Alan Peffer are on the ballot.


In Painter, incumbent Mayor Connie Campbell is running again for the office. For the Painter Towbn Council, Kim Savage, Stephen Hearne, Eric Harris, James Sturgis, Barry Frey and Thomas Willett are on the ballot.


The sole town election that is generating competition is the Onley Town Election. For Mayor, W.R. Bill Ferguson is facing Matt Hart. Ted Bliss Jr., Susan Rillo, Rose Pierson, Ned Finney, Woody Zember, Billye D. Custis, Claudia Harmon, John L. Dennis, Ted Cathey Jr. , Jerry D. Savage, and Jason Byelich are running for six seats on the Onley Town Council.

In Eastville mayor James Sturgis is running unopposed.  Eleanor C. Gordon, Denise W. Bland, Mary Beth Briggs, John D. Crockett, Anne G. Sayers and Barbara M. Thomas are running for Town Council.

In Nassawadox  Patsy Stith is running unopposed for Mayor.   John W. Hallett, Drury Stith, Liz Freund, Lisa Lindberg and Claude F. Jones are running for Town Council.

In Cape Charles, Cela J. Burge, Herb Thom Jr. and Joan Natali are running for Town Council.

There are two constitutional amendment questions on the ballot.

The first is, “Should a county, city, or town be authorized to provide a partial tax exemption for real property that is subject to recurrent flooding, if flooding resiliency improvements have been made on the property?”

The second is, “Shall the real property tax exemption for a primary residence that is currently provided to the surviving spouses of veterans who had a one hundred percent service-connected, permanent, and total disability be amended to allow the surviving spouse to move to a different primary residence and still claim the exemption?”

Local polls opened at 6 a.m. and will close at 7 p.m.   Absentee voting ended Saturday but if you already have a ballot and have not submitted it, you can do so in person at the Voting Registrar’s offices in Accomac and Eastville until the polls close. The voter has to submit the ballot.

A reminder that voters in District 4 in Northampton County will vote today at the Johnsontown United Methodist Church Social Hall, located at 11175 Bayside Road, Machipongo, VA 23405.


WESR will provide election coverage live beginning at 8:00 p.m.